Start Your Day Right with the Right Music

Mornings are usually…well, slow.  It’s very rare that we jump out of bed full of energy like a convict rushing to escape a prison.  Normally, I start my day off with a great cup of coffee and some breakfast – if I have enough time, that is.

Starting up really commences as soon as you hit the shower, you start clearing your mind for the day ahead.  You start thinking either “Same sh#t, different day” or “I am king of the world.”  Once you are dressed for work there is no turning back.  You either bomb during the day or win big time.

Assuming that I want to psych myself up in the morning, I usually perk me up with some music on my way to work.  Since I just take public transportation to and from the office, I have the liberty of using my music player while traveling.  With my in-ear device blocking out the external world, I get to focus on my day ahead with the additional benefit of altering my mood with music.

Just for today, I shuffled tunes on the old iPod for my short trip to the office.  My list included (not in order):

  • The Killers – All These Things That I’ve Done
  • Digitalism – Zdarlight
  • Stardust – Music Sounds Better with You
  • Hard-Fi – Living for the Weekend
  • Echo and the Bunnymen – Bedbugs and Ballyhoo

However, if I have a need for a speedy boost, I usually go with songs like these:

  • Incubus – Anna Molly
  • Chicago – 25 or 6 to 4
  • Modest Mouse – Float On
  • The Rolling Stones – Jumpin’ Jack Flash
  • Jay-Z – Can I Get A…
  • Eric Clapton – Change the World
  • Tears for Fears – Everybody Wants to Rule the World

Next time, I think I’ll list down the stuff I listen to at the end of the day.

Leave a Reply

