From under a rock: Why I blog

After reading Kevin Tan’s post on Blog Godown,  “How to Write Quality Blog Posts That Engage Your Readers,” I found myself asking myself a simple question. The question: What is a “Quality” blog post? And how does one really write a quality blog post?  I haven’t really thought of that question with a lot of heart.

My comfort zone is under this one...

I think that one should first decide what the blog is all about. It’s like deciding on a theme or something.  In my case, I started this blog because I initially wanted an outlet for my thoughts that distract me from what I want to do.  So far, that has been what I’ve been doing – I’m always distracted.  All I know is, I can say pretty much what I want, when I want and it does not really have to matter to a lot of people.  To me, it’s more like getting these thoughts out.   If someone else agrees with me or gets amused, then all is fine and great.  However, if I decide to blog professionally for a business or an idea, I’ll make sure to adopt a different attitude towards it – all pro.  Then maybe I’ll worry about real quality if and when that time comes.

Reading about blogging also made me realize that I haven’t really answered the question: Why on earth did I ever start blogging? I know that I used to be “shy” when it came to writing and so much more with actually sharing my thoughts. With the exception of occasional flashes that passed off as ad copy, I never really shared my ideas with anyone and I never thought that I will end up pushing my thoughts out in the internet.  Although I have to admit that an external factor triggered my sudden love for “writing,”  I cannot trace the reason why I found myself hooked on putting my words online.

I also find it amazing that people do take the whole activity seriously.  Forgive me for sounding like I’ve just crawled out from under a rock, but the whole idea of pumping in ideas and content has grown to a point where the whole online world has its share of top personalities and stars.  I think blogs have evolved into an alternative source of information for people seeking answers online – there’s still Wikipedia.  In the time of instant gratification and affirmation, rest assured that there is a blogger out there who shares the same opinion as you.

11 comments

  1. Sorry for another comment. I noticed that you’ve disabled threaded comment right?

    By the way, thanks for linking to my blog. Really appreciated. 🙂

  2. Hi Brianitus. Thanks for pointing to my post. In fact, I don’t consider myself a pro. I’m just one of the bloggers in the world of blogging. I learn and experience by blogging and reading on others’ blogs.

    Nice meeting you. 🙂

    1. Hey, Kevin. Nice of you to comment here as well. Same here. I try to read as much so I can pick up on ways to improve how I write on my blogs. You can still consider me “shy” at some point.

      I’ll try to read your other blogs as well. Would it be alright with you if I added you to my blogroll?

            1. Hi, Kevin.

              thanks for the compliment. I’ve been tinkering with the theme. I think this one looks better indeed.

              Oh, and on the linking, you’re welcome. I loved reading your post on http://bloggodown.com. Some people who end up reading my stuff might be interested in improving their blogs, so, I thought it might help them if I had a resource link on bloggging from a pro.

              thanks again for the comment. feel free to comment anytime. =)

Leave a Reply

