The Real Score

So, finally, I made the big move today.  Day 1 in the new office.  Congratulate yourself, brianitus, you are a true survivor.  Am I, really?  I guess I am.  Slowly but surely, I know I am going to get more and more of what I need out of this mood.

Business school and the school of hard knocks taught me to bite into a nice juicy opportunity the moment you see it.  I am not particularly fond of staying stagnant – I don’t know anyone who does – but I did do a bit of financial analysis on why I decided to jump ship at my last corporate gig.  While I did have some psychological currency or reward there in the old company, I cannot pay all my bills with that.   While the emotional connection with my last job was great – I loved my brands.  

After my first day at the company, it’s now starting to appear I made the right choice.    Although it’s unfair to compare, one can’t help notice the glaring differences.  So why did I even consider working back at my old haunt?  Blame my silly idealism — I thought I could start a real revolution.  While I was successful in planting the seeds of a possible cultural shift, the payback period might not be soon enough.

While employees asked me what I thought of the company I was with, I always gave them a positive answer that they should stay behind because I thought the company is poised to take off.  In reality, I do have my reservations about that statement.  Why is that?

I have with me lessons on what to do in companies with respect to their size and nature of ownership.  I brought with me practical knowledge that you cannot run multi-million cash companies with thinking more equipped for slow turnover.  Now I bring with me greater insight on why business owners should gain knowledge not only with the markets they serve, but also knowledge of the people they keep.  What will make your people happy enough to stay and work without question should be the priority of the owners.

I’ve also learned a valuable lesson in business: never treat your employees the same way as you would treat hard assets.

I’ve also learned not to be too trusting of other people – they will always fail at some point.  Why risk feeling betrayed?  Just doubt then hope for pleasant surprises, doses of great truth, from time to time.

Today, I jumped out of an old plane with a fairly nicer parachute at my back.  In passing, I remember an older colleague speaking with me yesterday, she told me, “Sir, you’re so lucky that you’re moving.”  I guess I really am.

Leave a Reply

