Climbing Up from the Bottom of the Barrel

The past few weeks had been…well…disappointing.  I realize that we all hit bumps and go into slumps.  My excuse had always been “it happens to the best of us.”  However, there will come a point when that excuse gets really really old.  Mediocrity hits when there’s a sudden loss of momentum to deliver more “Wow.”  Frankly, I am not happy being mediocre.  I hate it with a passion.

In my opinion, to the average person, which I really am, this can happen due to a variety of reasons.  This can be a mix of purely professional or even personal reasons.  Those who feed on– no, addicted to —  positive emotions are bound to crash from a high in a rather disgustingly distastefully disastrous manner.

So, you’re there.  You’re at the bottom of a dark pit looking up.  What do you plan to do?  Of course, I am going to climb out of it.  I tried looking for meditative techniques to quiet my mind.  I know that I still have a lot of good ideas that I can scare out of my mental bushes if needed.  I still think there are still a few items I need to get me going.

I realize that I have to write some things down to remind me to quit being normal again.  Thanks to a little talk we had in the office today, I write this manifesto from the bottom of the barrel.

  1. Inspiration does not pay the bills.  The longer one waits for it, less paid work gets done.
  2. Distractions do not pay the bills.  Simplify; do not overload oneself with useless thoughts.
  3. A to-do list is basic in being productive.  Writing it down is easier than trying to memorize it.  It beats looking stupid when something essential is forgotten.
  4. Procrastination IS THE DEVIL.
  5. When things get boring, find something productive to do.
  6. I will be critical of the things I do.  I will always ask myself “So what?” or “Then what?” before I pat myself on the back.
  7. At the end of the year, results, not plans, matter.  It’s what’s on the bottom-line of the spreadsheet that counts, not the fancy picture on the slideshow.
  8. Easy is usually cheap and does not add value.  Stay the hell away from it unless schedules permit it.
8 comments

  1. I agree with 1-6, 8… go and avoid those unnecessary ingredients…

    with Nr 7, execution without a solid plan is dangerously leading to failure. What could have happened was planning took so long and the calendar might have not been utilized well….palagay ko lang ito…

    suggestion, a Gantt chart helps…:)

  2. It’s equally great to instruct young whippersnappers how to run their lives. Which, according to the new bullet-point you are going to add, you are permitted to ignore entirely.

    1. Oh, I should have put bullets instead of numbers. They’re not exactly ranked according to importance. I treat them all equally. And I think I’ll add what you suggested.

      Thanks for dropping by, Joe. It’s great to get advice from those with years of experience and wisdom. 🙂

Leave a Reply

